Granola Inspired by Granola

Homemade Low-Fat Granola

I have a confession to make. A deep, dark, dirty secret to reveal.

I buy berries out of season. Mostly from California.

You don’t have to tell me I should know better. Every week that I pick up a box, sometimes two or three, I feel a little guilty. And then when I throw those damned plastic clam shell containers in the garbage because they’re not even recyclable I feel a little more guilty. Like I couldn’t just slap Mother Earth in the face, I had to kick her in the shins too.

Last summer I became accustomed to enjoying a handful of berries over a bowl of crunchy granola and yogurt and when there were no strawberries left at the farmer’s markets I just couldn’t help myself. This satisfying breakfast is now part of my daily routine. Enjoyed over the Daily Puppy, there’s no better way to start the day.

Now that it’s a staple in our diets, I wanted a recipe to make my own cereal, in an effort to eliminate things like xanthan gum and modified milk ingredients from our pantry. Finding a store-bought, low-fat granola that doesn’t taste like Styrofoam packing peanuts is difficult at best, so I was a little skeptical about a low-fat, homemade version. I came across this recipe for low-fat granola, inspired by Mark Bittman at Everybody Likes Sandwiches and decided to give it a whirl, omitting the dried fruit given that it’s topped with fresh fruit anyway.

The result? Perfection. This definitely ranks on the list of best granolas I’ve had. I’ve spent all weekend resisting calling it Special A. Ah-ha.

Low-Fat Granola
Inspired by Everybody Likes Sandwiches Granola Inspired by Mark Bittman
Makes a lot

Ingredients:

6 cups oats, not quick cook
1/2 cup regular, uncooked quinoa
1 cup dessicated coconut
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1/4 cup flax seeds (or ground flax)
1/2 cup wheat germ
1 cup pecan pieces
1 heaping tablespoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspon ground cardamom
dash of salt
1/2 – 1 cup maple syrup
Orange juice

Method:

1. Heat oven to 300F.

2. In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients. Add the maple syrup and stir well with a wooden spoon to get everything coated. If you feel that it needs more liquid, add a bit more maple syrup or orange juice (note: I used OJ and it gives it a hint of citrus that is divine).

3. Spread the mix out into a large baking dish and bake for 30 minutes. Stir occasionally to make sure that nothing burns. When the granola appears “golden”, remove from the oven and let cool. Store in an air-tight container.

10 thoughts on “Granola Inspired by Granola

  1. @stephchows Mark Bittman’s original recipe calls for millet where I used quinoa. You could even try a half and half mix of millet and quinoa.

  2. Don’t fret… i’m coming to terms with my out of season, foreign berries. Lately blackberries have taken my heart. They’ve been on sale EVERYWHERE in Toronto!

    • Thankfully, with spring in full swing berries are coming into season and I can rest easy at night! This year I’m going to be more organized and freeze them!

  3. Pingback: Blissful Summer Ontario Peach Crisp « mise en place

  4. Pingback: Morning Glory Muffins « mise en place

    • Sandy, I haven’t made this granola in awhile but I don’t recall the quinoa being bitter. This was my first encounter with quinoa and at the time I wouldn’t have known any better anyway. Mark Bittman makes no mention of rinsing in the recipe directions, but I don’t think it would hurt to try!

Leave a Reply

