Edamame Risotto

Edamame Risotto

Risotto reminds me of my brother’s dog, Ruby. She’s a Rottweiler-Shepherd mix and at first glance she looks like she’s going to eat your face. But if you just give her a little love, she’s like putty in your hands. That, friends, is precisely what a risotto is like.

Risotto was pretty close to the top of my “things I want to make but kind of scare me” list.  All that stirring!  For all my life — okay, since I was 23 and took a notion to make risotto in my tiny, attic kitchen — I have been made to think that this delectable little Italian specialty was too difficult for a lowly home cook like me.  So when this recipe caught my eye about a year ago, I pulled it out and put in the drawer with all the other risotto recipes I haven’t tried.

Now that Jeff isn’t working nights, dinner is fun again!  When I pulled out this recipe (and had bought all the ingredients) I kept trying to think up reasons why I shouldn’t make it.  All that stirring!  But then I had a teeny, tiny epiphany; I made bread.  And bread was at the top of that scary list.  So if I can make bread, THE STAFF OF LIFE, there is no reason I can’t make a pot of risotto.

And I did.  And let me tell you, all that stirring?  Totally worth it.

Edamame Risotto
Adapted from Real Simple
Serves 4

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 large yellow onion, chopped
2 cups Arborio rice
1 cup dry white wine
4 1/2 cups low-sodium vegetable
1 1/2 cups shelled edamame, thawed (one 454g package will yield about 1 1/2 cups)
2 teaspoons grated lemon zest
1 tablespoon fresh tarragon, chopped
1 cup grated Parmesan
1/2 teaspoon Kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Method:

1. Heath the oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add th eonion and cook for four minutes.

2. Add the rice and cook, stirring constantly, for two minutes. Add the wine and cook, stirring frequently, until the liquid is absorbed.

3. Stire in the broth, 3/4 cup at a time, stirring occasionally. Wait until each addition of broth is absorbed before adding the next. it should take about 25 minutes for all the brother to be absorbed.

4. When the broth is absorbed, remove from heat and stir in the edamame, lemon zest, tarragon, 3/4 cup of Parmesan cheese, 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper.

5. Serve and top with the remaining Parmesan.

6 thoughts on “Edamame Risotto

  1. Awwww, I love Ruby. And edamame. Plus my mom for some reason gave me like 3 1/2 bags recently, so I need to start putting them to use!

    • I love Ruby too, but can you relate with the face-eating? Real Simple magazine (realsimple.com) is always using edamame in all sorts of ways. I’m sure you could find some good ideas for salads, etc. there.

    • RealSimple.com, where I got this recipe from, has all kinds of quick and easy risotto recipes. Definitely a good place to start.

  2. Pingback: Tomato and Sausage Risotto « mise en place

Leave a Reply

