Honey Mustard Potato Salad

Potato Salad

Saturday morning saw the return of St. Andrews Market, one of Toronto’s first markets back in the 1800′s.  The market was demolished in 1937 and re-purposed, until now.  I happen to live about 200 paces away,and was absolutely giddy in anticipation of the new farmers’ market.  To be honest, I would have been giddy if it was any market, really, because our grocery shopping choices are slim in the neighbourhood.  But the fact that it was fresh, local farmers made it ten times better.

I woke up bright and early and headed down the street with my canvas shopping bag, ready to bring home a beautiful bounty.  And I most certainly did.  I hauled home two bunches of spinach, a basket of sweet carrots, cucumber, a pot of flat-leaf parsley and two small bushels of fingerling potatoes.

I had intended to serve the potatoes smashed, drizzled in olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt, but as the beautiful summer day wore on I wanted something else, something that tasted like summer.  I decided we’d have burgers for dinner and potato salad; quintessential summer eating.

Perhaps fingerling potatoes are not the best choice for potato salad. They are funny shapes that make for an odd looking salad. But who cares? It’s summer and in the end, it was a delicious accompaniment to our burgers. I love honey mustard vinaigrette and I am happy that we have enough to last for salad all week!

Get mise en place updates while they’re fresh on Twitter!  Follow @miseenplaceblog or say hello to me @amandalaird!

Honey Mustard Potato Salad
Adapted from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything
Makes four hearty servings

Ingredients:

1.5 pounds waxy potatoes (red new, fingerling, Yukon gold)
Salt
1/2 cup fresh parsley, minced
1/4 cup green onions, sliced

For dressing:

1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
3 tablespoons white wine vinegar
1 heaping teaspoon mustard
1 tablespoon honey

Method:

1. Wash and scrub potatoes, then cut into bite-sized pieces (you can peel the potatoes if you like, but I am lazy and skin = fiber). Throw potatoes into a large pot with enough water to cover them and add a healthy pinch of salt.

2. Bring water to a boil, then lower to a simmer. While the potatoes are cooking, about 15 minutes, mix all ingredients for dressing in a small bowl and set aside.

3. Drain potatoes, rinse with cold water and drain again.

4. Toss potatoes with parsley and green onions. Add the dressing, a tablespoon or two at a time, until the salad is dressed to your liking. Taste and season as you like.

5. Serve immediately or refrigerate for an hour or so if you prefer it chilled. Store leftovers, covered, for up to two days in the fridge.

12 thoughts on “Honey Mustard Potato Salad

    • St. Andrews was great! I couldn’t get everything I was after, but I did get a fair bounty indeed. Next week I’m definitely going to pick up some to of the bread that was there; the wheat was locally grown, ground and baked. Looked delicious!

    • It was great! I have the last of the left-overs today for lunch, tossed into a green salad with sliced turkey. I cold eat potato salad all summer (and probably will!).

  1. Amanda, your blog posts always make me hungry :-)

    I will definitely try this recipe. Also, I loooooove farmer’s markets and I’m looking foward to checking out St. Andrews now. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Pingback: Maple Baked Salmon « mise en place

  3. Pingback: Salmon Cakes « mise en place

  4. Pingback: Off Topic » Market Flavours: Potato recipes and ideas

  5. Pingback: The Last Supper: Chili on Sour Cream and Cheese Biscuits « mise en place

Leave a Reply

