Homemade Limeade

Homemade Limeade

On one of the first nice weekends of the year, Jeff and I made a pilgrimage all the way up north to St. Clair West.  We had one thing on our minds: barbeque.  And we were headed to the Stockyards, Toronto’s newest barbeque joint.

Sitting on a high stool next to the big, beautiful wood bar that overlooks the fryers and the grill, my feet swinging, I happily gobbled up what might possibly be my favorite thing to eat*: pulled pork, topped with slaw, on a bun with a side of homemade fries.  The food?  Amazing!  AMAZING!**  Made even better by the glass of cold, homemade limeade I washed it all down with.

Since that night I’ve pretty much wanted to eat barbeque all the time, but in an effort to be a little more health conscious I’ve been eating stuff that’s been a little less artery clogging .  Like baked salmon.  Or lentil salad.  Or a fish taco.

While this is certainly not “healthy”, it does have a cup and a half of sugar in it, I can think of no better way to welcome the arrival of summer in Toronto (both calendar and temperature wise!) than a tall glass of homemade limeade after an afternoon biking on the Lakeshore.

Happy summer!

* Okay, I know I claim that something is “possibly my favorite thing to eat” every other week around here, but that doesn’t mean I ain’t being serious.  When it comes to food, it’s so hard to chose, I love it all.  Except for capers.  Don’t bring capers anywhere near me.  Ever.

** For a much more articulate review of the Stockyards, I suggest reading Corey Mintz’s review from last week’s Star.

Homemade Limeade
From Southern Living Comfort Food, via Sweethome.ca
Makes 8 cups

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup boiling water
2 teaspoons lime zest
1 1/2 cups fresh lime juice (10 to 14 limes)
5 cups cold water
Lime slices (for garnish)
Fresh min sprigs (for garnish)

Note: If you’d prefer lemonade, simply sub in lemons for the limes.

Method:

1. Stir together sugar and boiling water until sugar dissolves.

2. Stir in lime zest, lime juice and cold water.

3. Chill 8 hours. Garnish, if desired.

10 thoughts on “Homemade Limeade

  1. Cam and I have been meaning to get over there for some BBQ goodness! It’s a less than ten minute walk from our place.. must do that this weekend!

    • Talita, I would be interested to hear how you do limeade in Brazil. Do you put anything else besides limes, sugar and water like this recipe?

  2. I love limeade! I’m dying to make this and shake it up with vodka in a martini with a touch of vermouth. Kind of like a Gimlet which is made with lime cordial, but au natural. Oo la la I think you’ve done it again!

  3. I make homemade lemonade all the time, but usually cut each glass of it with a little orange juice. Perhaps this is another way to go (either limeade and orange juice or the lemonade with some lime thrown in.) The possibilities are endless!

    Anyway, I found you on TasteSpotting and am writing to say that if you have any photos that aren’t accepted there, I’d love to publish them. Visit my new site (below), it’s a lot of fun! I hope you will consider it.

    Best,
    Casey
    Editor
    http://www.tastestopping.wordpress.com

    • A lemon/limeade would be absolutely delicious.

      I’ve been enjoying tastestopping these days, I’ll think about submitting.

  4. It’s great to hear that there is a finally a good BBQ place here in Toronto.

    And many thanks for the reminder to make limeade! …must get more limes! We used up all our limes to make the most fantastic lime ice cream.

    (found you via TasteTO blog-a-log)

  5. I just made this limeade and it was delicious! Thank you for finding the recipe and sharing it. I just randomly came across your blog, but I’ll definitely be checking back in.

Leave a Reply

