Sriracha Mayonnaise

Spicy Sriracha Mayonnaise

Despite my best intentions, my delicious account is where interesting things I find on the Internet go to die.  I should probably know better, given that I’ve been pegged as one of those social media types. But no matter how hard I try, I can’t keep up with the tagging and the sharing and the writing little blurbs, and the second I hit ‘tag’ that interesting recipe or how-to or template is never to be seen again.

So is was fate that I accidentally clicked on my delicious toolbar and found this long-lost recipe instead of refreshing page on the very same day that I was making another batch of salmon cakes. Once the confusion of what the — how the heck did this get here? cleared, a big, giant light bulb went on over my head. Spicy Sriracha mayo + salmon cakes = party in my mouth.

I was so right. This is delicious, not just on our salmon cakes, but also on our sandwiches for lunch the next day (we had sandwiches because we ate all the extra salmon cakes I made for lunch, oops!), and on our burgers. I imagine we’ll be seeing a lot of Sriracha spiked mayo in the mise en place kitchen, on top of oven fries or maybe even in tuna salad, squished in between a panini bun and topped with melted cheese. Move over, Hellman’s, there’s a new kid on the block.

Spicy Sriracha Mayonnaise
From White on Rice Couple
Makes about 1/4 cup

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons mayonnaise
1 tablespoon Sriracha chili sauce
1/4 teaspoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon lemon juice

Method:

Mix it all up until smooth. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Sriracha Mayonnaise

  1. My Delicious account is the same way. I’m scared to look at it sometimes.

    The mayonnaise looks awesome and easy to make, most importantly. Do you think it’d work with Miracle Whip? Would it drastically change the taste? Just curious.

    • Sean, I’ve used Miracle Whip in place of mayo in all sorts of combos. By all means you could sub Miracle Whip in this case. I do find however that mayonnaise has a much more neutral taste to begin with and takes better to additives than Miracle Whip — you can never quite cover up that Miracle Whip zip. But maybe that’s why you like Miracle Whip over mayo in the first place.

  2. Pingback: salmon burgers | mise en place

Leave a Reply

