chocolate chip power cookies

Almond Power Cookies and Goji Chia Chocolate Crunch Bats
Thanksgiving is my favourite of all the holidays that involve family and large meals. Everything about it is just so perfect – the timing, the weather (warm enough to take a walk through the gorgeous fall leaves but cool enough that you can wear your best jean jacket), and of course, the food. We do it potluck style, and when your family is filled with as many passionate and talented cooks as mine, you know you’re in for a real treat.

This year I made another pot of braised white beans and leeks. My brother made a fine turkey that spent 48 hours in a beautiful bath of wine, salt and garlic, while my mum brought a restaurant quality salad that had orange slices and pecans in it. As always, my sister in law who has been blessed with the gift of baking made two types of cake and there was enough vegan mac and cheese to feed a small (vegan?) army. And of course, we can’t forget the roasted potatoes, which have been known to reduce Lairds to petty theft and physical violence for just one more. Okay, maybe not physical violence, but definitely petty theft.

I’ve been working with a holistic nutritionist to sort out some crummy allergy symptoms I’ve been having over the past few months and Thanksgiving fell smack dab into the middle of my elimination diet. While the buffet table boasted plenty of dishes that were free of gluten, wheat, dairy, corn and soy (the most common allergens in our diets), I knew that a sugar-free dessert was going to be harder to come by.

Not exactly one to pass up a sweet after a meal (and after Thanksgiving meal at that!) I knew I had to plan ahead. I debated a stop at a Tori’s, one of my favourite bakeries here in Toronto, but on Saturday morning I opened up my pantry and realized I had all of the ingredients to make these chocolate chip cookies. With a base of almond meal, sweetened with maple syrup and studded with soy-free, dairy-free unsweetened dark chocolate chips they hit all the check marks on my elimination diet.

Despite desserts for days on the table, these cookies were a hit! I was especially pleased that the two most important men in my life gave them the stamp of approval — my dad and my husband, who are equally discerning when it comes to chocolate chip cookies. These are definitely going to make a repeat occurrence at my table, for a celebration meal or otherwise!

Check out the recipe for Goji Chia Chocolate Crunch bars over at YumUniverse, my latest recipe obsession. And full disclosure, I did cheat on my diet with one roasted potato and the tiniest sliver of pink doughnut cake. But hello, it was a pink doughnut cake!

Chocolate Chip Power Cookies
Adapted from UnDiet
Makes 12 cookies

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups almond meal (raw, from 2 cups of almonds if making at home)
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/3 cup shredded coconut
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
1/4 cup chocolate chips (dairy free if you’re going for vegan)

Method

1. Place rack in centre of the oven and preheat to 350F.

2. If making almond meal at home, whiz 2 cups of raw almonds in a high powered blender.

3. Mix all ingredients together and let rest for 10 minutes to let the dough come together. This will make it easier to shape.

4. Scoop out two tablespoons of dough, roll in to balls and place on a parchment-lined cookie sheet. Flatten them down a little.

5. Pop in the oven and bake for about 20 minutes, until golden brown. Remove from oven and carefully transfer to a cooling rack (they’re delicate!). As the cookies cook they will crisp up.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “chocolate chip power cookies

Leave a Reply

