the make list: road trip edition

At the end of the month Jeff and I are hitting the road to spend a week in Vermont. We rented a little guest house on a farm just outside of Burlington and I can’t wait to do nothing (i.e. play a lot of solitaire on my iPhone). Two things make a road trip: podcasts and snacks. Here’s what I’ve got on my make list to make sure we’re well fed on the road.


We’ll be staying in a few hotels that boast a free continental breakfast, so in other words a selection of tasteless fruit and refined carbohydrate sugar bombs that are guaranteed to have me cranky and crashing in a few hours. And when you’re spending seven hours in a two-door Volkswagon Golf, it could get messy. I’m going to whip up a batch of this travel cereal from YumUniverse to make sure I’m eating a proper breakfast.


Date truffles are the ultimate guilt-free indulgence and <a href="What’s Cooking Good Looking rolls dates, almond butter, bananas and crunch cacao coating into these yummy looking <a href="” target=”_blank”>chocolate, almond butter and banana bites. These will make great treats on the road and I won’t even feel guilty when I eat them all in one go.


I imagine there will be hiking. If this is the case, we will need snacks. I love my almond date granola bars but I’m thinking it might time for a change and Whole Living‘s Peanut Butter Hiking Bars hit all the marks.



These babies are just for me. Jeff doesn’t “like” nuts so I’ll get to have the whole batch of these roasted ginger sesame nuts from Dolly and Oatmeal to myself. They have all my favourite things; cashews! Ginger! Totally delicious.


Another road trip staple: veggie rice wraps. They are a great way to use up all of the left over bits and bobs in your fridge that you need to get rid of before you hit the road. Any combination of veggies will do the trick but I especially like spinach, avocado and cilantro. Meghan Telpner has a great tutorial on how to roll up these bad boys.

For more, follow me on Pinterest!

Note: these photos were taken by the bloggers and websites credited above.

One thought on “the make list: road trip edition

Leave a Reply

